Saturday 26 August at 4 pm

Andrew Beer - violin
Robert Ashworth - viola
Chen Cao -cello
Sarah Watkins - piano

W.A.Mozart: Piano Quartet in G minor, K478
Frank Bridge: Phantasie Quartet in F sharp minor
Janet Jennings: new commission after Paul Klee's New Harmony
Antonin Dvorak: Piano Quartet no 2 in E flat major, op 87

This ensemble encompasses four distinct solo voices coming together as one in an intense, exhilarating concert to lift the spirits. The overall experience is one of rich, vibrant storytelling, connecting the key  figures of European music with Aotearoa New Zealand – an opportunity for audiences to celebrate intimate music making of the highest quality from world-class musicians.

Award-winning musicians Andrew Beer, violin, and Sarah Watkins, piano (Best Classical Artist 2020, NZ Music Awards) have formed Ākarana Piano Quartet for debut performances in 2023. They will be joined by two outstanding colleagues from the APO – principal violist Robert  Ashworth and sub-principal cellist Chen Cao.