Ascension Wine Estate 

5:00 pm


Karen Batten - Flute
Sophia Acheson - Viola
Ingrid Bauer - Harp.

Debussy | Sonate pour flûte, alto e harpe                            18’
Arnold Bax | Fantasy Sonata (viola/harp)                             24’
Tabea Squire | New Work (flute/viola/harp)                           9’
Beethoven arr. Maayani | Serenade in D op. 25                  26’

Toru is a new Wellington-based trio consisting of three principal players from Orchestra Wellington. Debussy popularised this combination of flute, viola, and harp with his Sonate en trio; its magnificently varied timbral palette



has since captured the imaginations of composers, performers, and audiences alike. In 2016, Toru delighted audiences in Wellington and Greytown, performing a mix of romantic and contemporary repertoire.

This concert is presented in association with Chamber Music New Zealand